Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orchestra

Bernstein Reimagined (MCGJ1049)

New Bernstein Reimagined View larger

Bernstein Reimagined

Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orchestra

MCG Jazz


GEN 162860




CD 14,03 €


Legendary composer Leonard Bernstein once called jazz “the ultimate common denominator of the American musical style.” The music made a profound impact on Bernstein’s work, not only in the more explicit “jazziness” of his work in musical theater, but throughout his “serious” orchestral music as well. Jazz artists in turn felt the influence of Bernstein’s innovations, with interpretations of his work recorded by such icons as Bill Evans, Dave Brubeck, Oscar Peterson, Wes Montgomery, Wayne Shorter and countless other

With the stunning new album Bernstein Reimagined, the Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orchestra mines the composer’s vast repertoire for a vibrantly diverse new set of music that delves into pieces rarely if ever performed in a jazz context. This dazzling music was originally commissioned as part of the worldwide celebration of Bernstein’s centennial year in 2018.


  • Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orquestra
  • Charlie Young - conductor, alto saxophone

Bias Studios in Springfield, Virginia, 2018/p>


  • 01. Times Square Ballet (from "On the Town")
  • 02. Dream With Me (from "Peter Pan")
  • 03. Great Lover (from "On the Town")
  • 04. Lonely Town (from "On the Town")
  • 05. Morning Sun (from "Trouble in Tahiti")
  • 06. Waltz (from "Divertimento for Orchestra")
  • 07. Meditation 1 (from "Mass")
  • 08. Chichester Psalms I
  • 09. Postlude (from “A Quiet Place”)
  • 10. Symphonic Suite (from “On The Waterfront”)