Archie Shepp & Jason Moran

Let My People Go (6460)

Let My People Go View larger

Let My People Go

Archie Shepp & Jason Moran



GEN 162858




CD 12,38 €


The words of Exodus suffuse the entirety of Archie Shepp and Jason Moran’s new album of duo performances, from the title to every note the two play. But listening to it, I couldn’t help but think of another passage of scripture that resonates with the soul-rattling, cavernous echo of Shepp’s saxophone: “I am the voice of one crying in the wilderness: Make straight the path of the Lord.” As John the Baptist spoke those words in gentle yet emphatic direction to the Judeans then, Shepp’s horn screams to us today how we have failed to straighten that path.

Let My People Go collects seven tracks that Shepp, the iconic saxophonist, activist and artistic polymath, and Moran, arguably the most imaginative pianist of his generation, recorded together in a series of live concerts between 2017 and 2018. You wouldn’t know that from first listen. The pain and fury they evoke in the two spirituals (“Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child” and “Go Down, Moses”) that make up the center of the record resound with the cries of justice heard over this past summer in the wake of Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor, and George Floyd. As Moran lays down a harmonic bed streaked with Alice Coltrane-esque divine flame, Shepp blows and sings in a voice that cracks constantly; whether from age or heartbreak, it’s devastating either way.


  • Archie Shepp - saxophone
  • Jason Moran - piano

Recorded in Paris, September 12th 2017 & November 9th 2018


  • 01. Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child
  • 02. Isfahan
  • 03. He Cares
  • 04. Go Down Moses
  • 05. Wise One
  • 06. Lush Life
  • 07. Round Midnight