Albert Dailey

Renaissance, November 2, 1977 (889397894016)

Renaissance, November 2, 1977 View larger

Renaissance, November 2, 1977

Albert Dailey

Cool Cult


LPS 163139




LP 16,51 €

Modern and grounded in 1960s hard-bop sensibility, the American pianist and composer Albert Dailey (1939 - 1984) had perfect control over his instrument. Since an early age he played with cutting-edge musicians, the likes of Art Blakey, Sarah Vaughan, Stan Getz, Charles Mingus and Lee Konitz to name just a few. But despite that, he was an underrated artist during his lifetime receiving deserved recognition only after his death. Renaissance 2 November 1977 is his second album, played by a bold group that includes the voice of Cheryl Alexander, Carter Jefferson on sax, Cecil McBee on bass and features both Cheryl Alexander and Adam Nussbaum on drums


  • Albert Dailey – piano
  • Carter Jefferson – tenor sax, soprano sax
  • Cheryl Alexander – vocals
  • Cecil McBee – bass
  • Adam Nussbaum – drums (A2, B2)
  • Charles Persip – drums

New York, November 1 & 2, 1977


  • SIDE A
  • A1 Black Raspberry
  • A2 The Dues We Have To Pay
  • A3 I Love You
  • SIDE B
  • B1 Mimosa
  • B2 Mr. Pogo
  • B3 Gee Monetti
  • B4 Autumn Rain