Joshua Abrams

Natural Information (Limited Edition) (ZORN72)

Natural Information (Limited Edition) View larger

Natural Information (Limited Edition)

Joshua Abrams



LPS 163177




LP 24,78 €

Second Edition of 500 copies

In his book Powershift, published in 1990, writer and businessman Alvin Toffler predicted that the century ahead would be defined by speed and that time itself is destined to become our most valuable commodity. When Joshua Abrams recorded Natural Information, originally released by Eremite in 2010, he was reacting against such commodification of time and the diminishing attention span that accompanies it by offering music with an irresistible groove, rooted in the sinuous rhythms of the human body and the full play of our senses.

At the heart of this music is the sound of the guimbri, a North African three-stringed bass lute, which Abrams started to play following a visit to Morocco during the late 90s. Traditionally the instrument has a key role in mystical healing ceremonies. Abrams, already a well-established figure in Chicago’s vibrant musical communities, had no desire to repackage tradition. He recognized however that the involving, springy and percussive sound of the guimbri was just the right voice to communicate vital data, to relay the natural information we all need in order to get back in touch with the pulsating continuities of a world we all share. "


  • Joshua Abrams - guimbri, mpc, percussion, harmonium, bass, bells
  • Jason Adasiewicz - vibraphone
  • Emmett Kelly - guitar
  • Frank Rosaly & Noritaka Tanaka - drums

Recorded in Chicago, 2008/2009


  • SIDE A
  • A1 Mysterious Delirious Fluke Of The Beyond
  • A2 Abide In Sunset
  • SIDE B
  • B1 Dolphin Cave Dazzling
  • B2 Cabin
  • B3 In Ex Or Able
  • B4 A Lucky Stone