Matthew Halsall

Salute to the Sun (Standard Edition - Double Black (GONDLP039STD)

Salute to the Sun (Standard Edition - Double Black View larger

Salute to the Sun (Standard Edition - Double Black

Matthew Halsall

Gondwana Records


LPS 163305




LP 24,78 €

Standard edition



Salute to the Sun is Matthew Halsall's first album as a leader since Into Forever (2015) and marks the debut of his new band. A hand-picked ensemble featuring some of Manchester's finest young musicians: Matt Cliffe flute & saxophone, Maddie Herbert harp, Liviu Gheorghe piano, Alan Taylor drums and Jack McCarthy percussion as well as long-time Halsall collaborator, bassist, Gavin Barras who has been at the heart of Halsall's bands for over a decade. For Matthew it was important to have a band based locally and able, pre-Covid, to meet and play each week, and who also performed a sold-out monthly basement session at Yes in Manchester. The album draws energy from these sessions and inspiration from themes and ideas that have inspired Halsall through the years (on albums such as Oneness, Fletcher Moss Park and When the World Was One) ideas of ecology, the environment and harmony with nature.


  • Matthew Halsall - trumpet
  • Matt Cliffe - flute, sax
  • Maddie Herbert - harp
  • Gavin Barras - bass
  • Alan Taylorv - drumsv
  • Jack McCarthy - percussion
  • Tom Harris - kalinba

Manchester, July-December, 2019


  • SIDE A
  • 01. Harmony with Nature
  • SIDE B
  • 01. Joyful Spirits of the Universe
  • SIDE C
  • 01. Mindfulness Meditations
  • 02. Tropical Landscapes
  • SIDE D
  • 01. Salute to the Sun
  • 02. The Energy of Life