Lorez Alexandria

For Swingers Only (7427116347714)

For Swingers Only View larger


For Swingers Only

Lorez Alexandria



LPS 163399




This product is no longer in stock

LP 14,03 €


Originally released in 1963, For Swingers Only is singer Lorez Alexandria's tenth album and her fourth for Argo. While Alexandria is best known to ardent jazz fans, she was one of the great interpretive vocalists of her time, and this set is proof of that. Alexandria was a Chicago native who had established her reputation there. That said, she was successful enough to relocate to Los Angeles in 1960 to lend her voice work to soundtracks, television commercials, and recordings, and to hold a club gig as a headliner. Unlike some of her previous Argo dates, this one was recorded in Chicago at Ter-Mar Recording Studios. Her band for the session included some regulars like guitarist George Eskridge and drummer Phil Thomas. The great Chicago pianist John Young and the amazing reed and woodwind studio player Ronald Wilson were also on the date. Her bass player for the session was Jimmy Garrison from the John Coltrane Quartet. The material is ambitious.


  • Loren Alexandria - vocal
  • John Young - piano
  • Ronald Wilson - flute and tenor sax
  • George Eskridge - guitar
  • Jinimy Garrison - bass
  • Phil Thomas - drums

Recorded January 2 & 3, 1963, Ter Mar Recording Studio


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Baltimore Oriole
  • A2. Little Girl Blue
  • A3. All Or Nothing At All
  • A4. Travelling Down A Lonely Road
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Mother Earth
  • B2. Love Look Away
  • B3. The End Of A Love Affair
  • B4. That Old Devil Called Love