Shai Maestro

Human (ECM 2688 LP)

Human View larger


Shai Maestro



LPS 162276

ECM 2688 LP



LP 18,99 €

After paying his dues with Avishai Cohen, with whose Trio he recorded four well received albums, pianist Shai Maestro cut loose on his own, debuting with Shai Maestro Trio (Laborie) in 2013. Human is Maestro's sixth own-name album and his second on ECM, following The Dream Thief in 2018. The new disc is elegant, expansive, emotionally charged and beautiful. It contains ten Maestro originals and one cover, a playful version Duke Ellington's "In A Sentimental Mood."


  • Shai Maestro - piano
  • Jorge Roeder - bass
  • Ofri Nehemya: drums
  • Philip Dizack - trumpet

Recorded in Perne-les-Fontaines, France, February 2020


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Time
  • A2. Mystery And Illusions
  • A3. Human
  • A4. GG
  • A5. The Thief’s Dream
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Hank And Charlie
  • B2. Compassion
  • B3. Prayer
  • B4. They Went To War
  • B5. In A Sentimental Mood
  • B6. Ima (For Talma Maestro)