Lewis Express, The

The Lewis Express (ATA011)

The Lewis Express View larger

The Lewis Express

Lewis Express, The

Ata Records


LPS 163408




LP 16,51 €


Released on Leeds Jazz & Soul label ATA Records, the debut LP from The Lewis Express takes the rich legacy of the soul-jazz outfits of the 1960s as the initial blueprint of their sound. Taking inspiration from the likes of Ramsey Lewis, Young-Holt, Eddie Cano, Ray Bryant and Cannonball Adderley, they present a collection of tracks that range from introspective spy film themes to burning Brazilian jazz.


  • George Cooper - piano
  • Sam Hobbs - drums
  • Neil Innes - bass
  • Pete Williams - percussion
  • Chris Dawkins - guitar on A1, A3, B1 to B3
  • Rob Mitchell - baritone sax
  • Richard Ormrod - flute
  • Patrick Martin - trombone
  • Jack Davis - trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Fiona McMillan - vocal

Recorded on the 8th & 9th October, 2017 at ATA Studios


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Love Can Turn A Man
  • A2. Cancao De Momento
  • A3. Hawkshaw Philly
  • A4. Brother Move On
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Theme From "The Watcher"
  • B2. Last Man In The Chain Gang
  • B3. Straight Seven Strut