Nate Morgan

Journey Into Nigrita (NS-3257)

Journey Into Nigrita View larger

Journey Into Nigrita

Nate Morgan

Pure Pleasure


LPS 163570




LP 24,78 €

180 gram VINYL



Morgan was one of the most active artists in the Los Angeles underground jazz scene, and a member of the late great Horace Tapscott‘s artist collective Union of God’s Musicians and Artists Ascension (UGMAA). He performed alongside Tapscott, and other Nimbus recording artists like Jesse Sharps, who he introduced to Tapscott. He also performed with Arthur Blythe, Gary Bartz, Azar Lawrence, as well as soul icons Willie Hutch (notably on the Foxy Brown soundtrack) and Rufus & Chaka Khan. Most recently he contributed to Carlos Niño’s 2016 album Flutes, Echoes, It’s All Happening!, and was a part of Niño and vocalist Dwight Trible’s soul-jazz group Build An Ark (which also featured Tribe’s Phil Ranelin).

Journey Into Nigritia was Morgan’s debut as a leader, and the first of three recordings he released for Nimbus West. The album has a strong post-Coltrane spiritual feel, with some modal-based melodies, and some fiery solos from saxophonist Dadisi Komolafe. The record also features a solid rhythm section featuring bassist Jeff Littleton and drummer Fritz Wise.


  • Nate Morgan – piano
  • Dadesi Komolafe - alto saxophone
  • Jeff Littlejohn - bass
  • Fritz Wise - drums, percussion


  • SIDE A:
  • A1. Mrafu.
  • A2. Morning Prayer.
  • A3. Mother.
  • SIDE B:
  • B1 Journey into Nigritia.
  • B2. He Left Us A Song.
  • B3. Study in C.T.