John Gordon

Erotica Suite (SES-19780)

Erotica Suite View larger

Erotica Suite

John Gordon

Pure Pleasure


LPS 163571




LP 24,78 €

180 gram VINYL



The music here would hardly have found a home on the bigger jazz labels of the period – not because it's too avant-garde or non-commercial, but just because it's so deeply personal and powerful – the boldest vision on record of trombonist John Gordon, who composed a mind blowing suite of tracks for the first side of the album, as well as some equally great tunes for the second half! Gordon leads the group on trombone – with solos that are soaring and soulful, alongside work by the great James Spaulding on alto and flute, Waymond Reed on trumpet, John Miller on piano and keyboards, Lyle Atkinson on bass, and Frank Derrick on drums!

If you know some of the other players here from their own work of the time, you know you're in for a treat – as the music has this fantastic sound of strong individual voices coming together, instruments lifted high on a mission of music – with results that are as fantastic all these many years as they were in the 70s.


  • John Gordon - trombone
  • Waymond Reed - trumpet
  • James R Spaulding - alto sax, flute
  • Lyle Atkinson - bass
  • John Miller - piano, synthesizer
  • Frank Derrick III - drums

Sound Ideas Studios December 27th 1976


  • SIDE A:
  • A1. 1st Movement - Desire
  • A2. 2nd Movement – Fulfillment
  • A3. 3rd Movement – Aftermath
  • A4. 4th Movement - Consequences
  • SIDE B:
  • B1. Ora Lee Tingle
  • B2. Neleh
  • B3. Blue Na