Tubby Hayes

Free Flight - The Ron Mathewson Tapes - Vol. 3 (JIB-05-M-CD)

New Free Flight - The Ron Mathewson Tapes - Vol. 3 View larger

Free Flight - The Ron Mathewson Tapes - Vol. 3

Tubby Hayes

Jazz In Britain


DRJ 163595




CD 16,51 €




This previously unissued live recording features one of the final appearances by the ‘classic’ Tubby Hayes Quartet featuring pianist Mick Pyne, bassist Ron Mathewson (who made the original recording) and drummer Tony Levin, the line-up that had earlier created the landmark LP ‘Mexican Green’.

Taken from original tape sources and lovingly remastered by Matt Parker, this release sheds new light on the later stages of the great saxophonists career, showing that although ravaged by ill health and barely months away from his death, Hayes was still capable of giving his all. Featuring a Hayes composition not previously heard on any other commercial release (‘Lady Celia’), together with a programme of material ranging from standards by Cole Porter to themes by John Coltrane and Victor Feldman, this is an album which captures not only a key juncture in both the life and work of its headliner but something of the richness of the British jazz scene of the early 1970s.


  • Tubby Hayes - tenor sax & flute
  • Mike Pyne - piano
  • Ron Mathewson - bass
  • Tony Levin - drums

Recorded at Ronnie Scott's, London, on either the 17th or 18th October 1972


  • CD ONE
  • 01.I've Got You Under My Skin
  • 02.Trane's Blues
  • 03.Someday My Prince Will Come
  • 04.Seven Steps To Heaven [incomplete]
  • CD TWO
  • 01.Trenton Place
  • 02.Lady Celia
  • 03.I Thought About You
  • 04.Sienna Red [incomplete]