Disco Jazz (825764180511)

Disco Jazz View larger

Disco Jazz

Numero Group


LPS 163693




This product is no longer in stock

LP 24,78 €

Barely disco and hardly jazz, Rupa Biswas’ 1982 LP is the halfway point between Bollywood and Balearic. Tracked in Calgary’s Living Room Studios with a crack team of Indian and Canadian studio rats alike, Disco Jazz is a perfect fusion of East and West. Sarod and synthesizer intricately weave around one another for 37 transcendent minutes, culminating in the viral hit Aaj Shanibar. Remastered from original analogue source material and issued with permission and blessing of the producers and performers.


  • Rupa Biswas - vocals
  • Aashish Khan - sarod
  • Pranesh Khan - tablas
  • Don Pope - guitar
  • John Johnston - bass
  • Robin Tufts - drums
  • Franck Lockwood - percussion
  • Geoff Bell - keyboards, synthesizer
  • Rhonda Padmos - string synthesizer


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Moja Bhari Moja
  • A2. East West Shuffle
  • A3. Aaj Shanibar
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Ayee Morshume Be-Reham Duniya