Various Artists

Directions in Music 1969 to 1973 (BGP2 313)

Directions in Music 1969 to 1972 View larger

Directions in Music 1969 to 1973

Various Artists

BGP Records


LPS 163697

BGP2 313



LP 24,78 €


The reach of Miles Davis is plenty wide – as right from the start, the trumpeter was associating himself with some of the hippest young talent on the scene! Yet the apex of those associations may have come in the late 60s and early 70s, when the newly-electric Miles was experimenting in all sorts of new rhythms and instrumental combinations – and inviting a whole host of soon-to-be-legends to help him with his projects! This set is a great overview of some of those key contemporaries – and the way that they took new directions of their own, when away from Miles – some very much in the spirit of the Bitches Brew generation, others opening up in whole new frontiers of soul and spirit. The set features some really well-chosen tracks – a key who's who to this generation – and titles include "Sweet Pea" by Wayne Shorter, "In A Silent Way" by Joe Zawinul, "Common Mama" by Keith Jarrett, "Song Of The Wind (alt)" by Chick Corea, "In Search Of Truth" by Lonnie Liston Smith, "Arjen's Bag" by John McLaughlin, "Politician Man" by Betty Davis, "Uhuru Sasa" by Gary Bartz, "You'll Know When You Get There" by Herbie Hancock, and "Directions (16 December 1970 – first set)" by Miles Davis himself.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. In A Silent Way – Joe Zawinul
  • A2. Sweet Pea – Wayne Shorter
  • A3. In Search Of Truth – Lonnie Liston Smith & The Cosmic Echoes
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Arjen’S Bag – John Mclaughlin
  • B2. Politician Man – Betty Davis
  • B3. Uhuru Sasa – Gary Bartz Ntu Troop
  • SIDE C
  • C1. Directions (16 December 1970, First Set) – Miles Davis
  • C2. Common Mama – Keith Jarrett
  • SIDE D
  • D1. Song Of The Wind (Alt Take) – Chick Corea
  • D2. You’Ll Know When You Get There - Herbie Hancock