Hailu Mergia

Wede Harer Guzo w/ Dahlak Band (Gatefold) (751937436218)

New Wede Harer Guzo w/ Dahlak Band (Gatefold) View larger

Wede Harer Guzo w/ Dahlak Band (Gatefold)

Hailu Mergia

Awesome Tapes from Africa


LPS 163702




LP 24,78 €

Hailu Mergia recorded Wede Harer Guzo with his Dahlak Band in Addis Ababa in 1978, during breaks from spreading wonderful party dancing among the hotels and clubs of the city. This is the very first time these recordings have been made commercially available outside of Ethiopia: celebrate! On Awesome Tapes From Africa.


  • Hailu Mergia - organ
  • Dawit Yifru - electric piano
  • Abera Feyissa - bass
  • Tesfaye Tessema - drums
  • Dawit Kassa - guitar
  • Tilaye Gebre - sax
  • Shimels Beyene - trumpet
  • Muluken Melesse - vocals
  • Rida Ibrahim - vocals

Recorded in 1978 at Ghion Hotel, Addis Ababa


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Embuwa Bey Lamitu
  • A2. Sintayehu
  • A3. Bati Bati
  • A4. Migibima Moltual
  • A5. Yene Nesh Wey (Amalele)
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Wede Harer Guzo
  • B2. Yemanesh Ayinama
  • B3. Almaz Eyasebkush
  • B4. Anchin Kifu Ayinkash
  • B5. Minilbelsh