Pacific Express

Black Fire (Limited Edition) (MM109)

New Black Fire (Limited Edition) View larger


Black Fire (Limited Edition)

Pacific Express



LPS 163760




LP 20,64 €

This album is hard evidence of that 1976 musical moment in which Pacific Express forged an entirely new South African sound and musical identity out of what was ‘Cape Town Jazz’, Latin, R&B, soul, pop and fusion.

From the political heat of 1976 come the militant, upbeat and irresistible funk tracks Black Fire and Brother - where singer Zayn Adam calls out for hope and optimism in spite of present difficulties. The pace moves down a gear for heart-felt ballads and Latin-tinged jazz instrumentals. Group leader Chris Schilder, after his deep jazz beginnings with Winston Mankunku Ngozi and the cream of Cape Town’s jazz crop had already spent some time with seminal black fusion group The Drive in the early seventies. Black Fire lays down a fusion of jazz funk and soul that was later picked up on and developed by Spirits Rejoice and others


  • Ebrahim Khalil Shihab - Fender Rhodes Electric Piano
  • Zayn Adam - vocals and percussion
  • Robbie Jansen - trumpet, alto sax and vocals
  • Basil Manenberg Coetzee - tenor sax and flute
  • Issy Ariefdien - guitar and vocals
  • Paul Abrahams - bass guitar
  • Jack Momple - drums

Recorded at UCA Studios Cape Town, September/October 1976


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Brother
  • A2. Feelings (Deep In Your Heart)
  • A3. Sky Ride II
  • A4. Heaven (I've Found In You)
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Black Fire
  • B2. You're Everything
  • B3. Love Your Baby Right
  • B4. Wind Song