Duke Ellington

At the Bal Masque (EJC 55504)

At the Bal Masque View larger


At the Bal Masque

Duke Ellington

Essential Jazz Classics


EJC 125252

EJC 55504



At the Bal Masque

More details

CD 8,22 €


This release presents the complete original album "At the Bal Masque" (Columbia CS8098), on which Duke Ellington departs from his usual repertoire (with the sole exception of Satin Doll) to play a set of choice standards, most of which he had never recorded before and would never record again. Presented on the original LP as a live recording with applause between tracks, this music was in fact recorded in the studio during various sessions.

As a bonus to this album, a rarely heard 1960 Ellington session in its entirety. Equally uncommon, it was recorded in a small group format and also presents an unusual program, this time revisiting mostly forgotten tunes from the Duke’s repertoire from the 1920s through the 1940s.

DUKE ELLINGTON and His Orchestra:

Clark Terry, Cat Anderson, Willie Cook, Harold “Shorty” Baker (tp),
Ray Nance (tp, vln), Quentin Jackson, Britt Woodman, John Sanders (tb),
Jimmy Hamilton (cl, ts), Russell Procope (as, cl), Johnny Hodges (as),
Bill Graham (as, ts, bar), Paul Gonsalves (ts), Harry Carney (bar, cl, b-cl),
Duke Ellington (p), Jimmy Woode (b), Sam Woodyard (d).

New York, March 20-31 & April 1, 1958.

BONUS TRACKS [13-24] :

Duke Ellington Small Band:
Ray Nance (tp), Lawrence Brown (tb), Johnny Hodges (as),
Paul Gonsalves (ts), Harry Carney (bar, b-cl), Duke Ellington (p),
Aaron Bell (b), Sam Woodyard (d).
Hollywood, California, July 14, 1960.


01. Alice Blue Gown
02. Who’s Afraid Of The Big Bad Wolf
03. Got A Date With An Angel
04. Poor Butterfly
05. Satan Takes A Holiday
06. The Peanut Vendor
07. Satin Doll
08. Lady In Red
09. Indian Love Call
10. The Donkey Serenade
11. Gypsy Love Song
12. Laugh, Clown, Laugh
13. Everything But You
14. Black Beauty
15. All Too Soon
16. Something To Live For
17. Mood Indigo
18. Creole Blues
19. Don’t You Know I Care
20. A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing
21. Mighty Like The Blues
22. Tonight I Shall Sleep
23. Dual Highway
24. Blues

Total Time: 77:25