Curtis Amy

Katanga (Tone Poet Series) (602435149240)

Katanga (Tone Poet Series) View larger

Katanga (Tone Poet Series)

Curtis Amy

Blue Note


LPS 164154




LP 33,04 €

180g audiophile vinyl

gatefold jacket


Record Technology Incorporated (RTI)

Who are these guys? That’s the usual reaction of anyone fortunate enough to have come across this remarkable (and remarkably rare) session from 1963. The last of six albums saxophonist Curtis Amy recorded for Pacific Jazz in the early-1960s, Katanga! transcends not only the rest but plenty of other recorded jazz from that period as well. Trumpeter Dupree Bolton’s brilliant playing here is simply breathtaking in one of his very few recorded appearances during a career plagued with personal problems. Bolton and Amy are joined by guitarist Ray Crawford, pianist Jack Wilson, bassist Victor Gaskin, and drummer Doug Sides on this gem of an album.


  • Dupree Bolton - trumpet
  • Curtis Amy - tenor & soprano sax
  • Jack Wilson - piano
  • Ray Crawford - guitar
  • Victor Gaskin - bass
  • Doug Sides - drums

Los Angeles, February 3, 1963


  • SIDE A
  • A1: Katanga
  • A2: Lonely Woman
  • A3: Nativer Land
  • SIDE B
  • B1: Amyable
  • B2: You Don’t Know What Love Is
  • B3: A Shade of Brown