François Tusques

Free Jazz (20CACKLP)

Free Jazz View larger

Free Jazz

François Tusques



LPS 164527




LP 20,64 €

Cacophonic present a first time vinyl reissue of a pioneering album of French free jazz, François Tusques's Free Jazz, originally released in 1965. Comprising some of the earliest, uninhibited performances from musicians behind groundbreaking European records and films, Free Jazz captures the birth of an exciting movement that would soon earn its Parisian birthplace as the go-to European spiritual home of improvised and avant-garde music. Spearheaded by pianist and composer François Tusques, this 1965 French album laid the foundations -- alongside Jef Gilson's 1963 album Enfin! (OI 020LP) -- for a unique satellite brand of jazz that would later provide visiting Afro American avant-garde players with a vibrant Parisian platform. With Free Jazz, you not only hear the unique differences within the Gallic approach to the art form (combining masterful somber cinematic changes with aerated free-form percussion and erratic reed and brass), but you also witness the early, lesser savored secret ingredients that would carry France's mainstream pop culture into truly uncharted and unrivalled territories


  • Bernard Vitet - trumpet
  • François Jeanneau - sax, flute
  • Michel Portal - bass clarinet
  • Charles Saudrais - percussion
  • Bernard Guérin - bass
  • François Tusques - piano

Recorded at the Comédie des Champs Elysées, Paris ; October 26, 1965


  • SIDE A
  • A1 Description Automatique D'un Paysage Désolé
  • A2 Souvenir De L'OIseau
  • SIDE B
  • B1 Description Automatique D'un Paysage Désolé (Autre Version)
  • B2 La Tour Saint-Jacques