Floriano Ignacio Jr.

Novas Raízes (TCB 36902)

Novas Raízes View larger

Novas Raízes

Floriano Ignacio Jr.



TCB 164808

TCB 36902



CD 9,90 €

Novas Raízes ("New Roots") is the name of the latest album produced by the pianist Floriano Inacio Junior. The "Raízes" (Roots) represent the link where the past, present and future are intertwined. Now these links are "Novas" (new) - given that fruitful partnerships from this journey up to this point were added.

The value of life, love and respect for nature gave Floriano a perfect liaison of happiness, inspiring him to produce this album, the fourth of his career. This album features powerful, catchy and heavily improvised melodies produced by a wide variety and combination of instruments, coupled with his passion for "Brazilian jazz" and "Samba Jazz," an indelible characteristic of his style. Moved by this energy, the composer, arranger and instrumentalist bestows buoyant Brazilianness upon the twelve compositions comprising this jazz-driven musical exhibition, which he perceives as a fusion of his relentless studies, academic refinement and personal night-time experiences, giving rise to an increasingly stronger intimacy with his innate calling for music.

Therefore, Jazz for him is the bond amongst knowledge, life experience and rapport. Imbued with boundless energy, the recordings to Floriano represent a long journey across the "Oceans" and through the "Winds of the Sahara" until reaching his final destination. A clear demonstration of reverence towards his new home with "Samba pra Helvetia" (Samba for Switzerland), metaphorizing some titles of his compositions.


  • Floriano Inacio Jr. - piano
  • Nils Wogram - trombone
  • Daniel Schenker - trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Nat Su - alto sax
  • Eurides Cardoso "Junior Denden", Lula Galvão - acoustic guitar
  • Oliver Pellet - electric guitar
  • Eduardo 'DuDu' Penz - bass
  • Christophe Bras, Paulo Almeida - drums
  • Gabriel Grossi - harmonica
  • Dada Costa - percussion

Recorded at Hard Sudios Winterthur, October 5-7, 2020


  • 01. Novas Raízes
  • 02. Eles Em Canoa
  • 03. Gratitude
  • 04. Samba Pra Helvetia
  • 05. Dois Irmãos
  • 06. Dona Amélia
  • 07. Ventos Do Sahara
  • 08. Oceanos
  • 09. Lá No Cacique
  • 10. Nossa Aliança
  • 11. Revoada Dos Guarás
  • 12. Samba Da Vela