Hosono, Suzuki, Yamashita

The Aegean Sea (Limited Blue Vinyl) (V25AH506)

The Aegean Sea View larger

The Aegean Sea (Limited Blue Vinyl)

Hosono, Suzuki, Yamashita



LPS 164814




LP 20,64 €

In 1979, a year after he co-founded Yellow Magic Orchestra, Haruomi Hosono joined forces with acoustic guitarist Takahiko Ishikawa and keyboardist Masataka Matsutoya to record "The Aegean Sea", a gloriously sunny set of jazz-fusion, disco and jazz-funk cuts shot through with Mediterranean musical influences. It's the kind of thing that would now be considered "Balearic", so it's little surprise to see the set getting a European reissue for the very first time.

There's much to admire throughout, from the funk-fuelled dancefloor cheeriness of "Reggae Aegean Woman" and Bob James/Jimmy Smith-influenced bliss of "Image", to the sun-baked gorgeousness of "Day Break" and thrillingly jaunty "Atlantis


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Aegean Fantasy
  • A2. Atlantis
  • A3. Reggae Aegean Woman
  • A4. Mykonos Bride
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Image
  • B2. The Rose Between Waves
  • B3. Day Break
  • B4. Aphrodite's Mourning