Shamek Farrah

La Dee La La (JAZZR 007)

New La Dee La La View larger

La Dee La La

Shamek Farrah

Jazz Room


LPS 165181




LP 22,30 €

A lost soul jazz treasure – the legendary 3rd album from saxophonist Shamek Farrah, recorded after his first 2 sides for Strata East! The approach here is slightly different than that of the Strata sides – a bit more joyous and lyrical, with tunes that open up in waves of sound, color, and life – brightly pointing the way towards a new jazz vision that's really tremendous!

Farrah's working here with an assortment of players from the east coast underground of the time – as well as Chicago stalwart Malachi Thompson on trumpet, the great Sonelius Smith on piano, and vocalist Ghanniya green, who does some great Africanist scatting on the title track.

The whole thing's incredible – an exuberant set of longer tracks that easily matches the best classics on Strata East from the 70s, and the kind of album that we've treasured for years.


  • Kiyoto Fujiwara -acoustic bass
  • Shamek Farrah - alto & soprano sax, vocals
  • Lenny King - percussion, vocals
  • Roger Howell - congas
  • Ayon Falu - drums
  • Ron Rahsaan - drums, vocals
  • Hasan Jenkins - electric bass
  • Harry Jenson - guitar
  • Saeed Amik - piano
  • Sonelius Smith - piano, vocals
  • Grant Reed- tenor sax
  • Marvin Neal - trombone
  • Abdullah Khalid, Malachi Thompson - trumpet
  • Ghanniya Green, Vivian Chandler - vocals

Recorded at Sound Ideas New York City, June 1978


  • SIDE A
  • A1. La Dee La La Song
  • A2. Waiting For Marvin
  • SIDE B
  • B1. The White Lady
  • B2. And Along Came Ron Rahsaan