Doug Carn

Infant Eyes (Newly Remastered) (RGM-1235)

Infant Eyes (Newly Remastered) View larger

Infant Eyes (Newly Remastered)

Doug Carn

Black Jazz


LPS 165190




Currently unavailable

LP 22,30 €


An undisputed 70s soul jazz classic – and arguably the best album that Doug Carn ever cut for the Black Jazz label! The set is a masterpiece of spiritual jazz – with Carn on keyboards setting up the groove, and wife Jean singing some incredible vocals – very different than her later soul work as a solo act, and with a vibe that's like Dee Dee Bridgewater at her soulful 70s best.

Jean does a killer job with the album's classic vocal version of Bobby Hutcherson's "Little B's Poem" – done here with sweet lyrics that really open the song up a lot, and make it into an anthem of love and joy that we'd be hard pressed to match with any other tune! And all other tracks are great too – with titles that include "Moon Child", "Passion Dance", and a great version of Wayne Shorter's "Infant Eyes".


  • Doug Carn - piano, organ
  • Jean Carn - vocals
  • George Harper - tenor sax, flute
  • Bob Frazier - trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Henry Franklin - bass
  • Al Hall, Jr. - trombone
  • Michale Carvin - drums


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Welcome
  • A2. Little B's Poem
  • A3. Moon Child
  • A4. Infant Eyes
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Passion Dance
  • B2. Acknowledgement
  • B3. Peace