Charlie Haden

Nocturne (602435916545)

New Nocturne View larger


Charlie Haden



LPS 165234




LP 28,91 €

• Never Before on VINYL!!!

Double LP

180g heavyweight vinyl pressed by MMP

Charlie Haden teams up once more with the young Cuban pianist Gonzalo Rubalcaba for this melancholy, soothing album. Ignacio Berroa, on drums and percussion, completes the core trio. Special guests include tenor saxophonists Joe Lovano and David Sanchez, violinist Federico Britos Ruiz, and guitarist Pat Metheny (one track only).

Rubalcaba contributes orchestrations on two cuts, both of which omit drums and percussion. Haden's intention is to explore the bolero, a distinctive Latin dance rhythm that Ignacio Berroa accents with a soft, subtle snare drum roll, played with brushes, beginning on the "and" of the first beat of the bar and ending on the second.

This rhythm is perfect for a slow dance, and indeed, the entire album is highly romantic, with bittersweet melodies and lilting cadences.. All Music Guide


  • Charlie Haden - bass
  • Gonzalo Rubalcaba - piano
  • Ignacio Berroa, drumS - percussion
  • Joe Lovano - tenor saxophone
  • David Sanchez - tenor saxophone
  • Pat Metheny - acoustic guitar
  • Federico Britos Ruiz - violin

Los Angeles, California, August 27, 2000


  • SIDE A
  • A1. En La Orilla del Mundo (At the Edge of the World)
  • A2. Noche De Ronda (Night of Wandering)
  • A3. Nocturnal
  • SIDE B
  • A1. Moonlight (Claro De Luna)
  • A2. Yo Sin Ti (Me Without You)
  • A3. No Te Empenes Mas (Don't Try Anymore)
  • SIDE C
  • C1. Transparence
  • C2. El Ciego (The Blind)
  • C3. Nightfall
  • SIDE D
  • D1. Tres Palabras (Three Words)
  • D2. Contigo En La Distancia / En Nosotros (With You In the Distance / In Us)