Brandee Younger

Somewhere Different (602438109340)

Somewhere Different View larger

Somewhere Different

Brandee Younger



LPS 165242




LP 27,26 €

Somewhere Different is Brandee Younger’s major label debut album, composed and recorded in New York City and at the legendary Van Gelder Studios in New Jersey from November 2020 to February 2021.

Somewhere Different evokes nostalgic Black soul, informed by pioneering harpists Alice Coltrane and Dorothy Ashby as well as ‘90s R&B groups like SWV and Xscape. Side A is introspective and downtempo, soundtracking months of isolation during the pandemic, while side B includes raucous rock arrangements and more vigorous tracks.

Features Allan Mednard on drums and Rashaan Carter on bass, with appearances by legendary bassist Ron Carter, trumpeter Maurice Brown, tenor saxophonist Chelsea Baratz, flutist Anne Drummond and drummer Marcus Gilmore.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Love & Struggle
  • A2. Olivia Benson
  • A3. Beautiful Is Black
  • A4. Pretend” (feat. Tarriona “Tank” Ball)
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Reclamation
  • B2. Somewhere Different
  • B3. Spirit U Will
  • B4. Tickled Pink