Hiroshi Suzuki

The Cat (Half Speed Master) (WRJ010LTD)

The Cat (Half Speed Master) View larger

The Cat (Half Speed Master)

Hiroshi Suzuki

We Release Jazz


LPS 165496




LP 24,78 €


180 gram vinyl with obi


Celebrated in jazz collectors circles, in the lofi beat scene, and among music diggers around the world, Cat has become one of the most sought-after Japanese jazz albums of all time and, much like Ryo Fukui’s Scenery, has fascinated old and young generations alike.

Cat was recorded in October 1975 at Nippon Columbia Studio, while Hiroshi Suzuki was visiting his home country of Japan after moving to Las Vegas in 1971 to play with Buddy Rich and perfect his craft. Back on his old stomping grounds, the man known as Neko (Cat) immediately reunited with his dear friends for an epic two day session of groove magic. The chemistry was still intact. The skills and style had grown.

The result, Cat, is a smooth masterpiece, a deep and soulful affair where stunning trombone solos by Hiroshi Suzuki flirt with Takeru Muraoka’s heavenly saxophone and the sensual rhythm section of Hiromasa Suzuki (keyboards), Kunimitsu Inaba (bass), and Akira Ishikawa (drums)


  • Hiroshi Suzuki- trombone
  • Takeru Muraoka - saxophone
  • Hiromasa Suzuki - piano, keyboards
  • Kunimitsu Inaba - bass
  • Akira Ishikawa - drums

Recorded at Nippon-Columbia Daiichi Studio, on October 8-10, 1975.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Shrimp Dance
  • A2. Kuro To Shiro
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Walk Tall
  • B2. Cat
  • B3. Romance