George Ohtsuka

Sea Breeze (Limited Gatefold) (LTJC013)

Sea Breeze (Limited Gatefold) View larger

Sea Breeze (Limited Gatefold)

George Ohtsuka



LPS 165739




Currently unavailable

LP 22,30 €


Part of a great move forward for Japanese drummer George Otsuka in the 70s – a player who'd really made some great waves with his trio material at the end of the 60s, but who found a way deepen his groove with a larger group on records like this – really standing out as one of the most spiritual players on his scene at the time!

The players are all in Japanese, so we can't tell you their names – but the quintet feature an excellent reedman who blows both soprano sax and tenor, a deep-voiced trumpeter, and a pianist who also serves up a fair bit of Fender Rhodes too – both elements used in a really strong way over these long tracks on the set, which have a similar blend of soul and spirit as the best Japanese Columbia jazz sessions of the time.


  • George Otsuka - drums
  • Shunzo Ohno - trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Takao Uematsu - tenor & soprano sax
  • Takashi Mizuhashi - bass
  • EHideo Ichikaw - electric piano


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Sea Breeze
  • A2. Fool on The Hill
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Cannibal
  • B2. Potato Chips
  • B3. Jumping Cats