Alan Lorber Orchestra

The Lotus Palace (Gatefold - Gold Vinyl) (MH8097LP)

The Lotus Palace (Gatefold - Gold Vinyl) View larger

The Lotus Palace (Gatefold - Gold Vinyl)

Alan Lorber Orchestra

Modern Harmonic


LPS 165723




LP 24,78 €


Pressed on gold vinyL

Orchestrated by legendary producer Alan Lorber, this talented cast of musicians weave their way through Eastern-influenced and psychedelic interpretations of pop gems and some way-out-there originals, in an album touted as the first in the fusion of raga and jazz.

Brimming with the sounds of sitar, tabla, and Gamelan percussion, this eccentric blend of Eastern and Western music includes four originally unissued bonus tracks! Packaged in a gorgeous replica of the original gatefold jacket, featuring the original notes and a fresh set of notes from Alan Lorber himself! Exquisitely mastered from the original stereo masters, cut by Kevin Gray for a stunning and enveloping classic stereo sound with delightful stereo separation.


  • Seymour Barab - cello
  • Jerome Richardson - tenor sax, flute, bass clarinet
  • Hugh McCracken - guitar
  • Vincent Bell - guitar, sitar
  • Howard Hirsch - percussion
  • Collin Walcott - sitar, tabla
  • Donald Robertson - tambura
  • Louis Stone - viola
  • Irving Spice, Louis Harber - violin


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Up, Up And Away
  • A2. The Flute Thing
  • A3. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds
  • A4. Hang On To A Dream
  • A5. Roopaka Dha Teri Dhin Dhin
  • A6. Within You, Without You
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Mas Que Nada
  • B2. The Look Of Love
  • B3. Where?
  • B4. Djellaba (The Hooded One)
  • B5. Echo Of The Night
  • B6. The Serpent And The Hawk
  • B7. Where? [Version 2]
  • B8. I Heard The Rain