Gal Costa

Gal Costa (1969) [Limited Edition] (390011)

New Gal Costa (1969) [Limited Edition] View larger

Gal Costa (1969) [Limited Edition]

Gal Costa

Yashima Disc


LPS 163434




LP 20,64 €



“Gal Costa” is the first solo album by the Brazilian singer Gal Costa, released in 1969 (although all the songs were recorded in 1968). It was ranked the 80th best Brazilian album of all time by the Brazilian Rolling Stone magazine.

Considered one of the most representative records of the countercultural Tropicália movement, the album features songwriting by various artists associated with the movement, with whom Costa had previously worked within the 1968 collaboration album “Tropicália: ou Panis et Circencis”. These include Caetano Veloso, Gilberto Gil and Torquato Neto.

The music in the album has been considered unprecedented. It represents a strong departure from the style of “Domingo”, her debut album recorded with Caetano Veloso, which featured a "set of airy, somewhat standard bossa nova tunes". Despite incorporating new influences from Janis Joplin and James Brown, Costa's music still retained strong bossa nova elements.

The sound of Gal Costa has been called "truly psychedelic and very much of its time, but also full of subtlety, as befits the melodic complexity and harmonic freedom" of its songs. This highly limited 180 Gram LP edition also contains one bonus track (“Tuareg”) belonging to his next album (“Gal”) released later in the same year.


  • GAL COSTA - vocals
  • Jards Anet da Silva [aka Jards Macalé] - acoustic guitar
  • Alexander Gordin - electric guitar & bass guitar
  • Rodolpho Grani Júnior - bass
  • Diogenes Burani Filho, Eduardo Portes de Souza - drums
  • Guest vocals: Caetano Veloso & Gilberto Gil

Recorded in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 1968

  • (*) BONUS TRACK:
  • Same personnel.
  • Rogério Duprat (arranger).
  • Recorded in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 1969.


  • SIDE A:
  • A1. Não Identificado
  • A2. Sebastiana (feat. Gilberto Gil)
  • A3. Lost in the Paradise
  • A4. Namorinho de Portão (feat. Gilberto Gil)
  • A5. Saudosismo
  • A6. Se Você Pensa
  • A7. Tuareg (*)
  • SIDE B:
  • B1. Vou Recomeçar
  • B2. Divino, Maravilhoso
  • B3. Que Pena (Ela Já Não Gosta de Mim (feat. Caetano Veloso)
  • B4. Baby (feat. Caetano Veloso)
  • B5. A Coisa Mais Linda que Existe
  • B6. Deus é o Amor