John Zorn

New Masada Quartet (TZ 8384)

New Masada Quartet View larger

New Masada Quartet

John Zorn



TZA 165836

TZ 8384



This product is no longer in stock

CD 16,51 €


The long awaited first recording by John Zorn’s newest and most exciting ensemble, the New Masada Quartet. Performing eight classic compositions from the Masada songbooks, NMQ is a tight unit of like-minded virtuosi and one of the best groups Zorn has ever had.

Bristling hot guitar master Julian Lage, bass wizard Jorge Roeder and 30-year Zorn veteran Kenny Wollesen perform with a crackling live energy that brings the Masada music to life like never before!

Led by Zorn’s versatile sax and stop and start conducting, the music is filled with burning solos, telepathic group interaction, heartfelt lyricism and hypnotic grooves. Beautifully recorded at Bill Laswell’s studio in New Jersey this is an absolute masterpiece. Essential!


  • Kenny Wollesen - drums
  • John Zorn - alto sax
  • Julian Lage - guitar
  • Jorge Roeder - bass


  • 01. Tharsis
  • 02. Rigal
  • 03. Hath Arob
  • 04. Sansanah
  • 05. Mibi
  • 06. Kedushah
  • 07. Tagriel
  • 08. Piram