Sun Ra

Lanquidity (STRUT237LP)

New Lanquidity View larger



Sun Ra

Art Yard


LPS 165841




This product is no longer in stock

LP 24,78 €

Recorded overnight at Bob Bank’s Blank Tapes on 17th July 1978 after the Arkestra had appeared on Saturday Night Live, the album is unique in the Ra catalogue. “Most critics felt that it was more of a fusion-inspired record,” explains Michael Ray. “As the name suggests, the album is liquid and languid.” Bob Blank continues, “Musically, it was very ad hoc and freeform. There were horn charts but most tracks came out of improvised jams. Sun Ra just did his thing.”

Comprising five effortlessly fluid pieces, the album eases in with Lanquidity. Danny Ray Thompson remembers, “This was one of Sun Ra’s on-the-spot compositions. It is almost like an Ancient Egyptian Stargazing Ceremony, mapping out the stars and the planets.” Where Pathways Meet is “Sun Ra’s funky version of an Egyptian march. Pharaoh is sending his troops off to fight and this is his pep-talk!” continues Thompson. “The music seems to take different pathways but still converges.” The loping groove of That’s How I Feel, features the reflective trumpet lines of Eddie Gale with solos by John Gilmore and Marshall Allen: “Marshall comes in with that snake charming oboe.” Says Thompson. The funky Twin Stars Of Thence weaves around Richard Williams celebrated elastic bassline while the haunting closer, There Are Other Worlds (They Have Not Told You Of), is pure “space music.” The poet Mama Nzinga described it as ‘The essence of light. Spirit takes a ride inside the deep dark space of just being.”


  • Sun Ra - keyboards, organ, vocals
  • Eddie Gale - trumpet
  • Michael Ray - trumpet, flugrlhorn
  • Marshall Allen - alto sax, oboe, flute
  • John Gilmore - tenor sax
  • Danny Ray Thompson - baritone sax, flute
  • Julian Pressley - baritone sax
  • James Jacson - bassoon, flute, oboe
  • Eloe Omoe - bass clarinet, flute
  • Dale Williams - guitar
  • Richard "Radu" Williams - bass
  • Luqman Ali - percussion
  • Atakatune - conga drums
  • Michael Andersson - percussion
  • June Tyson, Eddie Tahmahs - ethnic voice


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Lanquidity
  • A2. Where Pathways Meet
  • A3. That?s How I Feel
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Twin Stars of Thence
  • B2. There Are Other Worlds (They Have Not Told You Of)