Marion Brown

Le Temps Fou (Original Soundtrack) (LTJC-012)

Le Temps Fou (Original Soundtrack) View larger

Le Temps Fou (Original Soundtrack)

Marion Brown

Le Tres Jazz Club


LPS 165853




LP 24,78 €

Marion Brown is a stunning saxophonist whose music seems to know no bounds – always full of these hidden corners that the mainstream missed back in the day – which is definitely the case with this fantastic rare soundtrack session from the end of the 60s!

The music is unlike most of what Brown was recording during the period – and features a very unusual lineup that includes Steve McCall on drums and tambour, Barre Phillips on bass, Gunter Hampel on vibes and bass clarinet, Ambrose Jackson on trumpet, and Alain Corneau on claves – players with a wide variety of approaches and backgrounds, which certainly comes through in the music!

Although Brown first rose to prominence on ESP and Impulse Records on our shores during the 60s, his time overseas was maybe even more fruitfully productive – as you'll hear in the breathtaking array of sounds he creates with his group here


  • Marion Brown - alto sax
  • Gunter Hampel - vibes, bass clarinet
  • Ambrose Jackson - trumpet cow bells, tambour
  • Barre Phillips - contrabass, whistle
  • Steve McCall - drums, triangle
  • Alain Corneau - claves, cow bells

Recorded September 1968, Studio Davout, Paris, France.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Le Temps Fou
  • A2. Cascatelles
  • A3. Song For Serge And Helle
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Boat Rock
  • B2. Ye Ye
  • B3. En Arrière