Sankofa (FARO225LP)

Sankofa View larger


Far Out


LPS 165911




This product is no longer in stock

LP 18,99 €

A hell of a record from Brazilian pianist Amaro Freitas – an artist we already loved before, but who's really stepping forth boldly with this release!

Freitas has a way with the piano that's unlike anyone else we can think of – that freshness we maybe first felt when hearing a player like Robert Glasper many years back – and he works in a trio setting at a level that completely transforms the format – thanks in part to the very inventive assistance he gets from Jean Elton on bass and Hugo Medeiros on drums and percussion!

If you think Freitas looks righteous on the cover, just wait until you hear his music – as he's definitely the real deal, and bound to be a big force in the jazz generation to come.


  • Amaro Freitas (piano)
  • Hugo Medeiros (drums and percussion)
  • Jean Elton (double bass)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Sankofa
  • A2. Ayeye
  • A3. Baquaqua
  • A4. Vila Bela
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Cazumbá
  • B2. Batucada
  • B3. Malakoff
  • B4. Nascimento