Nat Birchall

Ancient Africa (Limited Edition) (AAOS 211)

New Ancient Africa (Limited Edition) View larger

Ancient Africa (Limited Edition)

Nat Birchall



LPS 166013

AAOS 211



This product is no longer in stock

LP 33,04 €

A really beautiful record from reedman Nat Birchall – a solo set, but one that's got the same spiritual flow as his records with a group – as Nat himself handles a number of different instruments over the course of the set, using overdubs to give the whole thing the same spiritual flair as an early 70s session for Impulse Records!

We've always loved Nat's work on saxophone – and he solos on plenty of tenor and soprano here, plus bass clarinet – but he's also got a great ear for rhythms, and delivers these beautiful modal grooves on piano, bass, and drums – with extra percussion added in all the right ways to deepen the sound, and make the record really live up to its title.

The set is one that we'd easily rank right up there with Birchall's classics for the Gondwana label.


  • Nat Birchall - tenor & soprano sax, bass clarinet, piano, drums, percussion


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Ancient Africa
  • A2. Paladins
  • A3. Mirror Mind
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Song For John Blanke
  • B2. Malidoma
  • B3. Ancestral Dance