Talk Memory (Limited Gatefold Edition) (191404117613)

Talk Memory (Limited Gatefold Edition) View larger

Talk Memory (Limited Gatefold Edition)


XL Recordings


LPS 166043




LP 24,78 €

2 LP gatefold sleeve

black vinyl editIon

NOTE: The first 10 orders for the Vinyl will get a complimentary copy of the issue #3 of the poster zine series, The Memory Catalogue

Canadian trio Badbadnotgood have made us wait for Talk Memory, their fifth album.

Arriving a decade after their first full-length, and some five years since the release of their acclaimed fourth LP, it's a much more expansive and cinematic affair than its predecessors - both in scope (it includes more nods towards post-rock and jazz-rock, for example) and sound (a number of tracks feature string arrangements by Brazilian arranger Arthur Verocai).

It's a dazzling affair all told, with the band's choice of improvisational composition techniques and an impressive guest list (Laraaju, Karriem Roggins, Terrace Martin and Brandee Younder all appear) resulting in a string of epic, life-affirming compositions.


  • Leland Whitty - soprano & tenor sax, flute, guitar, piano
  • Chester Hansen - bass, piano, organ
  • Al Sow - drums, percussion
  • Karriem Riggins - percussion
  • Brandee Younger - harp
  • Terrace Martin - alto sax
  • Arthur Verocai - - string arrangement
  • Clovis Pereira Filho - violin
  • Ubirata Rodrigues - violin
  • André Cunha Rego - violin
  • Nikolay Sapoundjlev - violin
  • Emilia Valova - cello
  • Lisiane de los Santos - cello
  • David Chew - cello
  • Victor Botee - viola
  • Samuel Passos - viola


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Signal from the Noise
  • A2. Unfolding (Momentum 73)
  • SIDE B
  • B1. City of Mirrors
  • B2. Beside April
  • SIDE C
  • C1. Love Proceeding
  • C2. Open Chanels
  • SIDE D
  • D1. Timid, Intimidating
  • D2. Beside April (Reprise)
  • D3. Talk Meaning