Sheila Jordan

Comes Love - Lost Session 1960 (74164-2)

Comes Love - Lost Session 1960 View larger

Comes Love - Lost Session 1960

Sheila Jordan



CAP 166121




This product is no longer in stock

CD 12,38 €


Sheila Jordan falls into that unique category of vocalist whose voice, once heard, is unlikely to be mistaken for anyone else. Now at ninety-two, she continues to perform regularly, if not frequently, most recently in August 2021 at Jazz In The Park in Peekskill New York.

This release entitled Comes Love: Lost Session 1960 was recorded on June 19, 1960 at Olmsted Sound Studios NYC for Chatam Records backed by unidentified accompanists. Ms. Jordan was thirty-one at the time of this recording but, perhaps understandably, she has no recollection of this session nor the names of the musicians supporting her.

This outing pre-dates by more than two years her official debut recording for Blue Note Records entitled Portrait Of Sheila on which she was accompanied by guitarist Barry Galbraith, bassist Steve Swallow and drummer Denzil Best.


  • Sheila Jordan - vocals

Recorded in New York June 10, 1960


  • 01. I'm the Girl
  • 02. It Don't Mean a Thing If It Ain't Got That Swing
  • 03. Ballad of the Sad Young Men
  • 04. Comes Love
  • 05. Don't Explain
  • 06. Sleeping Bee
  • 07. When the World Was Young
  • 08. I'll Take Romance
  • 09. These Foolish Things
  • 10. Glad to Be Unhappy
  • 11. They Can't Take That Away from Me