Eumir Deodato

Inutil Paisagem (ACL0013LP)

New Inutil Paisagem View larger

Inutil Paisagem

Eumir Deodato

Audio Clarity


LPS 166201




LP 18,99 €


This album is a reissue of Deodato's debut solo record, originally registered for (extinct) label Forma in the studios of RCA between July 21 and 23, 1964, when the "Girl From Ipanema" hadn't been presented to American audiences yet. The repertoire consists uniquely of Jobim's classics. Deodato was only 22 years old, but already had five years worth of experience as an orchestral conductor. The revealing original liner notes by Tom Jobim express with subtlety Jobim's amazement at such precocious mastery: "Eumir Deodato is not only the perfect bridge engineer which all arrangers should be, but also the creator and poet which all arrangers must be." The influence of the delicacy of Gil Evans is evident on an album where straightforward, to-the-letter, simple renditions of Jobim's tunes coexist with an inventive use of orchestral backing and choice of timbres. Historic names of Brazilian music can be known in this record, as the late trombonist Maciel and the clarinetist Paulo Moura. Also here are the maestro Copinha, maestro Cipó, Roberto Menescal, Oscar Castro-Neves, and Deodato on the piano, along with other masters.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Insensatez
  • A2. Corcovado
  • A3. So Tinha de Ser Voce
  • A4. O Morro Nao Tem Vez
  • A5. Ela é Carioca
  • A6. O Amor Em Paz
  • SIDE B
  • B1. A Garota De Ipanema
  • B2. Inutil Paisagem
  • B3. Samba de Uma Nota Só
  • B4. Meditação
  • B6. Vivo Sonhando
  • B6. Samba Do Avião