Arkham (Limited Edition) (SRV475)

Arham (Limited Edition) View larger


Arkham (Limited Edition)


Sub Rosa


LPS 166205




LP 18,99 €

Historic Belgian prog-fusion outfit of the early 1970s. Arkham played eclectic jazz and rock mixtures in the 'Canterbury' vein, inspired by Soft Machine and Egg.

Never released before on LP, the recordings reproduced on this album come from magnetic tapes of some of Arkham's concerts and rehearsals, recorded at various times. Featuring keyboard player Jean-Luc Manderlier who would later join Magma, drummer Daniel Denis who would also move on to Magma as well as Univers Zéro, and drummer Patrick Cogneaux.

Arkham aren't nearly as dark as Magma or Univers Zéro, their jazzy overtones placing them a little closer to Soft Machine. The three musicians, who show some maturity, are obviously pouring their hearts out through out the album, which exudes an intensity that can't be ignored.


  • Jean-Luc Manderlier - organ, piano
  • Patrick Cogneaux - bass
  • Calude Deron - electric flugelhorn A6 & B4
  • Christian Ramon - bass on B4

Recorded in Bruxelles, June 2001


  • SIDE A:
  • A1. Exhibition 47 - Penelope
  • A2. Upstairs In The Granary
  • A3. Eve's Eventful Day Part III
  • A4. Eve's Eventful Day Part IV & V
  • A5. Eve's Eventful Day Part VI
  • A6. Tight Trousers Intro
  • SIDE B:
  • B1. Bleriot Visibility Poor
  • B2. Brussels Shortly After
  • B3. Brussels Shortly After Part II
  • B4. Riff 14