Toni Harper

Lady Lonely and Night Mood (FSRCD 634)

Lady Lonely and Night Mood View larger

Lady Lonely and Night Mood

Toni Harper

Fresh Sound Records


ABS 125597




Lady Lonely and Night Mood

More details

CD 9,88 €

2 LPs ON 1 CD
After the novelty experience of a child vocalist piping her way to fame with Candy Store Blues in 1948, Toni Harper grew up into a singer with a warm, polished voice, and the taste to phrase sensitively and authoritatively. The two excellent albums on this set, “Lady Lonely” and “Night Mood,” were a rewarding showcase for the adult Miss Harper, whose cool approach to a series of low-key ballads and easy, swinging touch on the up-tempo songs reveal a singer with more than a fine appreciation of jazz feeling.

For a vocalist with such jazz and pop affinities and a repertoire of attractive originals and superior standards, the great arranger-conductor Marty Paich was ideal. Using groups with strings, horns and woodwinds, and others with reeds and brass, he featured the artistry of Art Pepper, Bud Shank and Jack Sheldon—three of his favorite jazz soloists—and first class rhythm sections, with results that are a must for anyone with a taste for great scoring, fine playing and equally assured singing.

Collective Personnel includes:

Jack Sheldon, Conte Candoli, Frank Beach, Dick Collins, Stu Williamson, Al Porcino (tp),
Vince De Rosa, John Cave, James Deckler, Dick Perissi (Frh)
Dominick Fera, Lurie Mitchell (cl)
Frank Rosolino, Bob Fitzpatrickm, Pete Carpenter (tb)
Bob Enevoldsen (vtb), George Roberts (btb), Art Pepper, Bud Shank (as)
Bill Perkins, Jack Montrose (ts), Bill Hood, Jack Nimitz (bar), Red Callender (tuba)
Eddie Beal, Jimmy Rowles (p), Bill Pitman (g), Joe Mondragon (b), Mel Lewis (d)
Larry Bunker (vb), Alvin Stoller (percussion).
Violins; violas; cellos; Ann Stockton, Kathryn Julye (harp)

Recorded at R.C.A. Victor Studios, Hollywood 1959-1960.


01. Lady Lonely
02. In the Dark of the Night
03. He Was a Man
04. My Heart Is a Lonely Hunter
05. The Lack of Love
06. Blue It Grows
07. I Love the Blues
08. You Taught Me How to Cry
09. The Velvet Hammer
10. The Other Woman
11. Nobody Home But the Blues
12. Busy Blues
13. Love Has Come, Love Has Gone
14. River Weep
15. In the Still of the Night
16. Paradise
17. 'Round Midnight
18. The Meaning of the Blues
19. Saturday Night (Is the Loneliest Night in the Week)
20. Night After Night
21. Just Go
22. A Sleepin’ Bee
23. My Ship
24. You and the Night and the Music
25. Where Flamingos Fly