The Volcanic Plus Latin Fire (FSRCD 632)

The Volcanic Plus Latin Fire View larger

The Volcanic Plus Latin Fire


Fresh Sound Records


ABS 125598




The Volcanic Plus Latin Fire

More details

CD 9,88 €

2 LPs ON 1 CD
A long with Chano Pozo, Candido was a seminal influence in the exciting marriage of Afro-Cuban rhythms and jazz. Showcased in these two successful albums, the great Cuban conga and bongo player is presented with the opportunity to demonstrate his gifts against orchestral backgrounds provided by Ernie Wilkins and Manny Albam.

On Candido the Volcanic Wilkins arranged six of the eight tunes, while Lady in Red and Moonlight in Vermont are Albam’s work. The solo spots are shared by such jazz greats as Art Farmer, Hank Jones, Frank Rehak, Ernie Royal and Charlie Shavers.

On Latin Fire Albam scored a collection of vintage jazz tunes with notable craftsmanship, taking four voices and, minus lyrics, and using them just like horns. The brass figures benefit from the impact of top section hornmen, while Phil Woods plays with originality and vitality. And Candido, the raison d’être of this set, displays his signature way with Afro-Cuban polyrhythms and coaxes an infinite variety of sounds out of a single drum head.

Candido Camero plays conga drums & bongo on both albums.

[1-8] Orchestra arranged & conducted by ERNIE WILKINS.

(1-5) Bernie Glow, Art Farmer, Charlie Shavers, Jimmy Nottingham (tp);
Jimmy Clevelan, Frank Rehak, Tommy Mitchell (tb); Jimmy Buffington (Frh)
Jay McAllister (tuba); Hank Jones (p); Bill Crow (b); Osie Johnson (d).
(6-8): Ernie Royal (tp); Ed London (Frh); Oscar Pettiford (b) replace Farmer, Buffington, and Crow.
Recorded in New York City, February 20 (#1-5) & 25 (#6-8), 1957.

Orchestra arranged & conducted by MANNY ALBAM.

Marky Markowitz (replaced by Bernie Glow in one session
Ernie Royal, Nick Travis, Al DeRisi (replaced by Charlie Shavers on #14, 15 & 17) (tp);
Phil Woods (as); George Duvivier (b); Charlie Persip (d); Machito (maracas #14, 15 & 17)
and the Dick Williams Singers.
Recorded in New York City, February 20, and March 2 & 4, 1959.


01. Peanut Vendor
02. Takeela
03. Moonlight in Vermont
04. Kinda Dukish
05. Warm Blue Stream
06. Take the “A” Train
07. The Lady in Red
08. Tin-Tin-Deo
09. Swinging the Blues
10. Exactly Like You
11. King Porter Stomp
12. Jada
13. It Don’t Mean a Thing If It Ain’t Got That Swing
14. Ain’t She Sweet
15. When the Saints Go Marchin’ In
16. Honeysuckle Rose
17. Sweet Sue
18. Royal Garden Blues