Okyerema Asante

Drum Message feat. Plumky (Limited Edition) (4062548029857)

Drum Message feat. Plumky (Limited Edition) View larger

Drum Message feat. Plumky (Limited Edition)

Okyerema Asante



LPS 166293




LP 24,78 €


Strut return to the rich archives of Black Fire Records for the Drum Message album by Ghanaian master percussionist Okyerema Asante from 1977.

After playing a short spell early in his career with Ebo Taylor’s Blue Monksband at Tip Toe’s in Accra, Asante joined the fledgling Hedzoleh Soundz during the early ‘70s at their Napoleon Club residency in the city. After playing Fela’s Shrine, Fela recommended them to Hugh Masekela as an ideal backing band and Hedzoleh joined Masekela on a US tour in December 1973.

Sharing the same management company, Charisma, Asante first met Plunky and Oneness Of Juju during an East coast tour with Masekela, starting a relationship with the band that has endured until today.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Drum Message
  • A2. Asante Sana
  • A3. Follow Me
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Sabi
  • B2. Mother Africa
  • B3. Never Fly Away From The Funk
  • SIDE C
  • C1. Play A Sweet Rhythm On The Drums
  • C2. Adowa
  • C3. Sabi (Black Fire mix)
  • SIDE D
  • D1. Kazi's Awekening
  • D2. To The Ancestors