Various Artists

Lagos Shake: A Tony Allen Chop Up (Gatefold) (HJRLP034)

New Lagos Shake: A Tony Allen Chop Up (Gatefold) View larger

Lagos Shake: A Tony Allen Chop Up (Gatefold)

Various Artists

Honest Jons


LPS 166369




LP 20,64 €

2 VINYL gatefold sleeve.

A long-awaited full length set – one that finally brings together all of the amazing Tony Allen reworks done by the Honest Jon's label!

These "chop up" tracks were originally issued over a range of limited 12" singles, and they're really amazing stuff – not just remixes of Tony Allen's work, but re-recordings and re-interpretations as well – a batch of music that stands amazingly well on its own, even if you're not a fan of Tony originally – and which takes his music into even more exotic territory than just Afro Funk!

The choice of artists here is key to the set – as players from other Afro-influenced genres really take a new spin on Allen's music – and are allowed to strongly bring their own sounds to the set.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Hypnotic Brass Ensemble – Sankofa
  • A2. Tony Allen – Kilode
  • A3. Tony Allen – Awa Na Re
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Tony Allen – Moyege
  • B2. Wareika Hill Sounds – Reggae Land Dub
  • B3. Newham Generals – Tetsuya's Theme
  • B4. Son Palenque De Colombia - Samba
  • SIDE C
  • C1. Diplo – Fuji Oujia
  • C2. Tony Allen – One Tree
  • C3. Tony Allen – Kilode
  • SIDE D
  • D1. Salah Ragab – Ole (Cairo Version)
  • D2. Tony Allen – Ole (Moritz von Oswald Remix)