Ibrahim Khalil Shihab Quintet

Spring feat. Mankunku (MM118LP)

New Spring feat. Mankunku View larger

Spring feat. Mankunku

Ibrahim Khalil Shihab Quintet



LPS 166373




LP 24,78 €

South Africa’s lost jazz history contains many an overlooked classic. But even within that hidden tradition, there are few albums that suffered such an unlucky fate as Spring, the monumental 1968 debut album by pianist Ibrahim Khalil Shihab, formerly Chris Schilder.

This edition of Shihab’s stunning debut, produced with the blessing of the man himself, is the first time it has been properly available in over forty years, and the first time it has ever been available outside South Africa. Restored and presented with new liner notes by Valmont Layne, Spring can now be seen for what it is: a peerless masterwork of Cape Jazz, blessed by the presence of the great Mankunku, but truly animated by the subtle vision and original musical spirit of its creator, Ibrahim Khalil Shihab.


  • Phillip Schilder - bass
  • Gilbert Matthews - drums
  • Garry Kriel - guitar
  • Chris Schilder - piano
  • Winston "Mankunku" Ngozi - tenor sax

Recorded on November 22nd 1968 at the Herrick Studios, Johannesburg.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Spring
  • A2. Before The Rain And After
  • A3. Look Up
  • SIDE B
  • B1. The Birds
  • B2. You Don't Know What Love Is