Tony Allen

Lagos No Shaking (HJRLP020)

Lagos No Shaking View larger

Lagos No Shaking

Tony Allen

Honest Jons


LPS 166368




LP 24,78 €


Tony Allen is the co-creator of afrobeat, and one of the most distinctive and in-demand drummers on the planet. bandleader, composer and husky rapping vocalist, aAllen has recorded a string of groundbreaking solo albums and he now returns to his roots for his most powerful and personal album to date. recorded over 10 all-night sessions in the edgily groovy ikeja district, 'Lagos No Shaking' brings together several generations of lagosian musical talent, including palm-wine crooner fatai rolling dollar, fela kuti saxmen baba ani and show boy, and the amazing yoruba soul woman yinka davies.


  • Elizabeth, Iyabo, Joanne, Larry, Kama - backing vocals
  • Showboy - baritone sax
  • Onyeka Okorie - bass guitar
  • Tony Allen - drums
  • Oscar Elimbi - guitar
  • Omololu Ogunleye - keyboard, vocals
  • Yinka Ogunye - percussion
  • Muritala Adise - flute
  • Deolu Ogunsanya, Lekan Animashaun - tenor sax
  • Fred Fisher - trombone
  • Batik Adebiyi, Mandela Afolabi - trumpet
  • Yinka Davies - vocals

Recorded in Ikeja, Lagos, June 2005


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Ise Nla
  • A2. Morose
  • A3. Aye Le
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Losun
  • B2. One Tree
  • B3. Ole
  • SIDE C
  • C1. Kilode
  • C2. Awa Na Re
  • C3. Ogogoro
  • SIDE D
  • D1. Moyege
  • D2. Gbedu A
  • D3. Gbedu B