Theo Jorgensmann

At the Fields Edge (MW1014-2)

At the Fields Edge View larger

At the Fields Edge

Theo Jorgensmann

Not Two


DRJ 166409




CD 12,39 €

Cardboard Gatefold digipack

The first Wandering The Sound album in 2018 was the trio of Argentinian reedist Guillermo Gregorio, Spanish drummer Ramón López and Polish bassist Rafal Mazur, here extended to a quintet with pianist Satoko Fujii and trumpeter Natsuki Tamura for a 2019 concert at Alchemia in Poland, a masterful example of free improv based on a poem by Ikkyu Sojun, a Zen master from the 15th century.

Taking its album title and the titles for three compositions from poems by Laura Winter, the German jazz quartet led by clarinetist Theo Jörgensmann with Christopher Dell on vibes, Christian Ramond on double bass and Klaus Kugel on drums present an advanced example of modern creative, chamber-oriented collective free jazz with a stunning level of communication.


  • Theo Jorgensmann - clarinet
  • Christopher Dell - vibes
  • Christian Ramond - double bass
  • Klaus Kugel - drums

Recorded at Wangeliner Garden, in Buchberg, Germany, in September, 2017


  • 01. Chances Need To Be Taken - part 1
  • 02. Chances Need To Be Taken - part 2
  • 03. Chances Need To Be Taken - part 3
  • 04. Blue Hot - part 1
  • 05. Blue Hot - part 2
  • 06. Blue Hot - part 3
  • 07. Slow No Wake