Jazz at The Lincoln Center Orchestra

The Democracy! Suite (BENLP037)

New The Democracy! Suite View larger

The Democracy! Suite

Jazz at The Lincoln Center Orchestra

Blue Engine


LPS 166490




This product is no longer in stock

LP 33,04 €

Jazz music is the perfect metaphor for democracy,” says famed trumpeter Wynton Marsalis. At a time when America—and indeed, the whole world—finds itself at a crossroads, the Pulitzer Prize-winning composer has been inspired to write a poignant and buoyant work, The Democracy! Suite, which proves that the joy and beauty of jazz can bring us all closer together.

That new suite is now a digital album from Marsalis and a septet composed of members of the famed Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra. Recorded live in Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Appel Room during the Covid-19 lockdown, the work is irresistible and irrepressible. Tracks like “Out Amongst the People (For J Bat)” and “Be Present” are an impassioned reflection of turbulent times that find peerless musicians working as a harmonious community, urging us to reflect on the past and reconsider the future.


  • Wynton Marsalis - trumpet, music director
  • Ted Nash - alto and soprano saxophones, flute
  • Walter Blanding - tenor and soprano saxophones, clarinet
  • Elliot Mason - trombone
  • Dan Nimmer - piano
  • Carlos Henriquez - bass
  • Obed Calvaire - drums, tambourine

Recorded on September 27, 2020 at Jazz at Lincoln Center's Frederick P. Rose Hall


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Be Present
  • A2. Sloganize, Patronize, Realize, Revolutionize (Black Lives Matters)
  • A3. Ballot Box Bounce
  • A4. That Dance We Do (That You Love Too)
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Deeper Than Dreams
  • B2. Out Amongst the People (for J Bat)
  • B3. It Come ‘Round ‘Gin
  • B4. That’s When All Will See