Ray Charles

Ingredients in a Recipe for Soul (7427244912327)

New Ingredients in a Recipe for Soul View larger

Ingredients in a Recipe for Soul

Ray Charles



LPS 166628




LP 14,03 €

Originally released in 1963, and arranged by four distinctive musicians, among them alto sax genius Benny Carter, Recipe for Soul stands as one of Ray Charles's most eclectic and erratic releases of the period. A highly varied sequence of pop standards, lowdown blues, Jazz big band numbers, after-hours ballads and country tunes like Harlan Howard "Busted" one of his best early-'60s singles.

Arrangements by:

  • Marty Paich
  • Benny Carter
  • Sid Feller
  • Johnny Parker

Recorded in Hollywood, Cal., New York City July, 1963


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Busted
  • A2. Where Can I Go?
  • A3. Born To Be Blue
  • A4. That Lucky Old Sun
  • A5. Ol' Man River
  • SIDE B
  • B1. In The Evening (When The Sun Goes Down)
  • B2. A Stranger In Town
  • B3. Ol' Man Time
  • B4. Over The Rainbow
  • B5. You'll Never Walk Alone