Harold Mabern

Mabern Plays Coltrane (JAZZ)

Mabern Plays Coltrane View larger


Mabern Plays Coltrane

Harold Mabern

Smoke Sessions


SMK 166651



Currently unavailable

CD 14,86 €


MABERN PLAYS COLTRANE is a vibrant Live recording  of the late, great Harold Mabern performing the music of John Coltrane featuring an all-star sextet with Eric Alexander, Vincent Herring, Steve Davis, John Webber, and Joe Farnsworth.

Harold held a special reverence for John Coltrane. “He was very influential in my life and my playing, too,” he once said. “After being around him and seeing what a great human being he was – man, I wish the whole world could have known John Coltrane.”

Mabern Plays Coltrane is culled from the final three-nights of a three-week residency at Smoke’s annual year ending John Coltrane Festival that started in 2017 ended with these performances that Mabern and the band played in January 2018. The resulting recordings also produced two earlier albums: The Iron Man, which shined a spotlight on Mabern the performer and interpreter and offered a glimpse into a typical evening’s performance and Mabern Plays Mabern, which commemorated Mabern’s gifts as a composer and followed his untimely death at age 83 on September 17, 2019. Mabern Plays Coltrane is the album that was originally planned for those live recording sessions.


  • Mabern Mabern - piano
  • Vincent Herring - alto sax
  • Steve Davis - trombone
  • John Webber - bass
  • Joe Farnsworth - drums


  • 01. Dahomey Dance
  • 02. Blue Train
  • 03. Impressions
  • 04. Dear Lord
  • 05. My Favorite Things
  • 06. Naima
  • 07. Straight Stree