Uprize! (Original Soundtrack - Gatefold) (4062548011227)

New Uprize! (Original Soundtrack - Gatefold) View larger

Uprize! (Original Soundtrack - Gatefold)


Mushroom Hour


LPS 166798




LP 24,78 €

The brutality of the South African apartheid echoes through history, but its chimes weren’t heard until well after. Soweto students organized and conducted protests in opposition to sanctioned racial segregation and discrimination in 1976, acting as the catalyst for what would soon become violent clashes with authority, death being the result. It’s these events that are explored in Johannesburg-based collective SPAZA’s album UPRIZE!. The album accompanied the 2017 documentary of the same name, creating a space of raw intensity that not only acts as the soundtrack to historic moments but also as the reminder of the crises in this era. SPAZA – UPRIZE!

This rotating collective from the Mushroom Hour Half Hour label features the talents of Ariel Zamonsky, Gontse Makhene (percussion), Malcolm Jiyane (piano/trombone/vocals), and Nonku Phiri (vocals), each providing a fervent touch that ultimately creates a listening experience that is both stirring and hope-laced. The emotions that lie within each track and note hit are palpable, surrounding listeners with its enrapturing soundscapes. It’s a visceral listen through and through, one that haunts as well as it enchants.


  • Ariel Zamonsky (electric Upright bass)
  • Gontse Makhene (percussion, vocals)
  • Nonku Phiri (vocals, efects)
  • Malcolm Jiyane (vocals, piano, trombone)

Recorded on 15, 16 & 17 July 2016 in Yeoville, Johannesburg.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Bantu Education
  • A2. Sizwile
  • A3. Mangaliso Sobukwe
  • A4. Solomon, Tsietsi & Khotso
  • A5. The Black Consciousness Movement
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Banna Ba Batsumi
  • B2. Bayasiphazamisa
  • B3. Xolile Mosi
  • B4. We Got A Lot A Work To Do