Joel Fairstein

Umbra (Limited Edition) (MAR 051)

Umbra (Limited Edition) View larger

Umbra (Limited Edition)

Joel Fairstein

Mad About Records


LPS 166958

MAR 051



LP 22,30 €


Housed in resealable plastic sleeve

Mad About Records present the first ever worldwide reissue of Joel Fairstein's Umbra, originally released in 1978. Rare jazz funk fusion LP released on a private label in 1978. Hailing from Knoxville, Tennessee, Joel Fairstein has earned critical praise as jazz pianist, composer, producer, and studio musician. His first album, Umbra, an LP recorded at age 24 with eighteen sidemen, has since become a sought-after collector item. This reissue includes an insert with interview and exclusive photos. Transferred directly from master tapes.


  • Joel Fairstein (piano, organ, synthesizer)
  • Dan Prestwood , Roger Jones, Rusty Holloway, Sandy Garrett (bass)
  • Kirk "Jellyroll" Johnson (harp)
  • Arvin Scott, Eddie Davidson, Michael T. "Backbone" (drums)
  • Danny Hill (drums, percussion)
  • Dave G. Young, Jay "Bird" Chalmers, Jay Manneschmidt (guitar)
  • James Pippin (percussion)
  • Bill Scarlett, Jerry Coker (saxophone)
  • David Bradley (trombone)
  • Stan Harold (trumpet)
  • Karen Keith, R. B. Morris (vocals)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Umbra
  • A2. Tn
  • A3. Let's Go to Frisco
  • SIDE B
  • B1. That And The Other
  • B2. Jefferson Street
  • B3. Womanized
  • B4. Mexican Railway
  • B5. Boat Song