Bob Dylan

The Karen Wallace Tape, May 1960 (8055515230109)

The Karen Wallace Tape, May 1960 View larger

The Karen Wallace Tape, May 1960

Bob Dylan

Cornbread Records


LPS 166962




Currently unavailable

LP 20,64 €


Minneapolis/St. Paul, May 1960: a young Bob Dylan, still known as Robert Zimmerman and not yet even 19 years old, decides to drop out of college to move to New York City and pursue a career in folk music. That same month he plays a small gathering at Karen Wallace's apartment in St. Paul -- Karen's sister, Terri, was an early fan and supporter of Dylan's -- mostly covering American folk and blues standards, which he'd become obsessed with since starting at the University.

Still a few years before his self-titled debut, this tape is one of the earliest documents of early Dylan, and since Karen Wallace attempted to sell the tape for $10,000 in the 1970s and subsequently disappeared along with the tape, its life is another great story in the history of Bob Dylan, one of the most enigmatic and idiosyncratic celebrities of the 20th century.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Introduction & Unknown Song
  • A2. Pastures Of Plenty
  • A3. Muleskinner Blues (Complete Song)
  • A4. Go Down Ye Murderers
  • A5. This Land Is Your Land
  • A6. Rockabye My Sarah Jane
  • A7. Nobody Wants You
  • A8. Great Historical Bum
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Mary Ann
  • B2. Sinner Man
  • B3. Abner Young
  • B4. One Eyed Jacks
  • B5. Columbia Stockade Blues
  • B6. Payday At Coal Creek
  • B7. Two Sisters (Complete Song)

Recorded in Karen Wallace's apartment in St. Paul, Minnesota, May 1960